I didn’t do anything, I just started getting a bajillion emails or popup’s!

I didn’t do anything, I just started getting a bajillion emails or popup’s!

Have you ever said that to yourself or to the person cleaning up your computer?

Well here’s one of several reason’s why your getting popups or you lost everything…

You Clicked on a link you received in an email and you just knew it was from a company you know. They had a logo or the address on it.

I hate to break it to you but there are dishonest people in this world we live in and they are really really sneaky about tricking you.

As you can see from my screen shot, I received an email that looked like it was from Skype. It even has the location on the bottom of the email so it must be from them right? WRONG!

Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 12.17.48 PM

Did I click on the link? Nope! I use Apple mail and you have an option of clicking a little “nerk” which is a term I learned from my daughter explaining the little marks on the gas gauge of her car when she was younger (dad my gas gauge is on the 3rd nerk do I have enough gas to get to the store and back?) and I still use that term today. LOL

So when I click on the little Nerk next to the email it will bring up a small window of where that link will take you without either taking you to another website (redirecting) or to give you malware/ransomeware/viruses which can destroy all of your files and photos forever! Yes Forever, all gone, POOF! Buh Bye files and photos!

The dead giveaway for me was, I don’t use Skype! Next time it might be from a bank or even… Hold on to your britches, FaceBook! Yeah I know! Those DirtBags!

So if you ever get an email from “Your Bank” or “FaceBook” or any company, to click on the link to update your profile or someone wants to contact you, just close the email and open your browser “Safari, Chrome, FireFox, Internet Explorer, Edge” log into your bank, facebook or whoever is trying to get your attention and you should have the same notification as the email. Your in safely this way. If you don’t have that same notification when you log in directly it’s Spam! What next just delete the email? I’m so glad you asked, you can if you want but if you have the extra time log into the same website they are trying to make you think your going (or call them) and find an email you can forward the bad email to. this way they can shut down that person…

Be Safe in this Cyber World…

 

Submit a Comment

%d bloggers like this: